Amaury Bischoff: ‘I’ll be Ready in 6-7 Weeks’

Summer signing Amaury Bischoff is hoping for a return to action in about 6-7 weeks time after the midfielder continues his recovery from injury.

The Portugal U21 international midfielder has been plagued by injuries in his so far short but promising career and is so far recovering from a pelvic and double groin operation. He said;”I’ve just started running for the first time in my recovery and I feel good – I have no problems now. I’ve been working hard with the very good physio team here and I think I am six or seven weeks away from a return to action ”

Bischoff is also aiming for a push into the first team but recognises that may not be realistic after he gets a few games under his belt.

“I want to play for Arsenal’s first team – not for the reserves. I’m realistic and know I’ll start at that level because I’ve not played for a while, but my aim is to play for the first team in any competition.”

Amaury Bischoff, 21 signed on a free from Werder Bremen though compensation is to be paid and is primarily a central midfielder.

“I’m a creative player – not so much a dribbler but more in terms of passing, one-touch and two-touch. I’ve got good vision and think I can fit well into the way Arsenal play. Their quick passing style is one that I like and I watched the team a lot last season.”

Amaury has also played as a winger or a deep lying playmaker role but with Fabregas looking indispensable in the central creative midfield, the latter could be his future role at the club.

Those doubting his credentials need not to worry as he is in regular fortnighly contact with the Portuguese U21 coach and is also rated highly by his former employees. Arsene Wenger has also been watching Bischoff for a long time and due to his injury problems and lack of games is referred to by Wenger as a ‘gamble.’ He also played in the same French youth team as Karim Benzema therefore may prove to be steal rather than a gamble.

Leave a Reply

