Foul play: the seven deadly sins of football

Starting Saturday May 16, the Guardian and Observer newspapers will be giving away a supplement each day featuring sinful-tales of footballing misdemeanors.

The seven part series, entitled Foul play: The seven deadly sins of football has been put together by a team of the Guardian and Observer’s award-winning sports writers. They have scratched beneath the shiny veneer of the modern Premier League era and discovered that the beautiful game has a secret history of the odd, the unexpected and the downright shady.

The first supplement – focusing on the sin of ‘greed’ and free with the Guardian tomorrow – includes stories involving Ashley Cole, Ted Drake, George Graham, Bryn Jones and Henry Norris, with many other Arsenal tales will feature in the additional supplements throughout the week.

16 May – Greed featuring David Beckham and Ashley Cole
17 May – Pride featuring Andrei Arshavin and Mike Ashley
18 May – Wrath featuring Craig Bellamy and Roy Keane
19 May – Envy featuring Bruce Grobbelaar and Danielle Lloyd
20 May – Gluttony featuring Mark Bosnich and Gazza
21 May – Sloth featuring John Terry and Ian Rush
22 May – Lust featuring David Mellor and Robinho

Foul play: the seven deadly sins of football
A seven-part series
Starts Saturday 16 May


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s